Author & Book Spotlight – Marteeka Karland – Takedown – #bookspotlight – #authorspotlight

Join me in welcoming my guest, Author Marteeka Karland. I know her as one half of a dynamic writing duo (with Shara Azod), who has written many stories that I’ve loved and re-visited over and over again. However, Marteeka has written many stories of her own, too, and I have to tell you, there was just a certain je ne se quoi about the short story, Sweet Tart

Today, Marteeka will tell us a little bit about herself, like how she’s able to balance family life with her writing, something interesting that many people don’t know about her and what she wants her fans to gain from reading her books. And in spite of the fact she’s written over eighty books, she still has some more in store for us before the year ends.

So without further ado, let’s get the ball rolling.

I’m delighted to have you here. Let’s start by telling us, who is Marteeka Karland, and why did you decide to write?

It wasn’t so much me deciding to write as it was getting up the courage to show others my work. I wrote my first “story” in the third grade. It was about two hand written pages long, a Halloween story featuring kids in my class. I was SO embarrassed when my teacher read it to the class, I ducked my head under the desk and didn’t move until she’d finished. After that, I was hooked.

Which authors have you collaborated with? Give us some insight into the dynamics of writing a story as a team.

I just completed a series with Shelby Morgen, and have done one book with Elizabeth Jewell. The writer I most often collaborate with is Shara Azod. She’s my writing soul mate as well as a huge pain in my ass, but I make her crazy so I call it even.

Do you write full-time?

Yes. It is where the majority of my income comes from, though I have a part time job in a busy Emergency Room. I quit that job full time back in early September of 2012, and the Breast Center in late October 2013 and picked up writing and cover art full time. I didn’t start back actually part time until April of 2013 and only because the wonderful woman who took my full time position passed away and I felt sorry for my team. I enjoy that work, but writing is what I love the most.

How do you balance family life with your writing?

VERY carefully. Though, it’s not as hard as one might think. My office can be anywhere I want. I take my son to the park and sit at a picnic table with my laptop. Or write long hand while he’s at a ball game. I even take my computer to the drive-in sometimes to work on a cover if necessary. One of the many reasons I love what I do.

What’s the funniest/best/worst pick up line ever used on you? Have you ever incorporated it into any of your books?

I can honestly say, I was the one doing the picking up when I dated. And no. I’ve never used any of my many horrible pick up lines. 🙂

Tell us something interesting about you not many people know.

I’m actually very musically inclined. I have numerous medals for trumpet and piano, as well as voice. I sang at my own Baccalaureate in high school, and was invited back by the next year’s graduating class to sing at the actual graduation services.

Have ever written a character that was bits and pieces of you? Who was it?

Well, the last book in the Executive Decisions book IS an erotic romance author. Beyond that, I shall not comment. 😀

Which of your books would you like to be made into a movie?

The Black Star series. Or maybe God of Fire. Those are the two I’m most proud of.

If you could date any character from any book you’ve written, who would it be?

Shiffley from Lionsheart. Why? Cause he tries to hard to be an anti-hero. I LOVE the anti-hero.

Give us a brief overview of your previous works.

Not sure what to tell you there. I’ve got over 80 books out. Most are science fiction/paranormal. The past few years, I’ve tried to break out into Interracial Romance. Which is what led to my love affair with Shara Azod. Or maybe that’s the other way around… *scratching head.*’

What’s your favorite book or series you’ve written?

Probably Black Star.

Have you ever based your characters on real people?

Uh… no comment. 😀

What do you want your readers to gain from reading one of your books?

Any strong emotion. Even if it’s negative, as long as it’s not mediocre. More than anything, when they finish one of my books, I hope they come away thinking, “now, there’s a woman who loves to write…”

Do you listen to music while you write? Are there any other rituals you do?

Not so much music as movies. I will generally find a movie that seems to click with me and watch it over and over while I write. When I first started, it was Day After Tomorrow. Currently, I seem to have World War Two documentaries playing in the background. Or the Hatfields and McCoys. No idea why, but it seems to help me concentrate.

Which author(s) would you consider your greatest influence? Why?

Angela Knight, Shara Azod… recently, Kresley Cole. Ms. Cole is one of the most imaginative, creative people I’ve ever read. I read her Immortals After Dark series and I’m just in complete awe. Angela Knight is the same way, and I actually have interactions as equals with her. She makes me feel like I’m actually a good writer. 😀 Shara… well, Shara makes me stretch myself. Though there are times I’d love to kill her for it, I’m still grateful.

What advice would you give to new or aspiring authors?

You don’t have to be published to be an author. You have to be published to be PAID to be an author. There’s a difference. When you wake up in the morning, what is your first thought? If it’s that you need to get to that next part of your book, if you can’t think of anything else but writing, if that’s your main goal every day, then you’re meant to be a writer. Write. Don’t let anyone tell you your not a writer. Doesn’t mean you’re a GREAT writer, or even a good one, but if you love it enough and are persistent enough, you can learn and get better.

Tell us about your latest book/series.

I just released the final book in a series with Shelby Morgen called, Memphis Heat. It’s about a faction of the Memphis Police Department that just happens to be werewolves. They have sex a lot. Also, I’m in the middle of a science fiction series called IIllicit. There are currently two books completed: IIllicit Mating and Illicit Sex. I’m currently working on Illicit Craving. These books are set in a near future Earth where the people are trying to colonize the moon and Mars with the help of an advanced species wanting to seek mates from the people of earth. Only, someone is trying to sabotage the colonies and it’s looking more and more like a high level conspiracy.

What can readers expect from you for the rest of 2013?

I have at least one Illicit book that will be completed before the end of the year, as well as a Christmas book for Changeling’s Red Velvet Christmas seasonal releases. God only knows what I’ll get finished for Shara, but I’m sure there will be several releases between now and the first of the year. 🙂

Blurb:

Memphis, Tennessee. Two packs fight for the heart of the city — one old world, one new. The Russian mob and the MPD stand at odds, the city of Memphis caught in their crossfire.

Their growing pack at their backs, the new Alphas plan to leave their enemies in the dust. But it’s their friends they should be watching out for.

When the final takedown comes, there will only be one Alpha standing.

Excerpt:

“What do you know about Remmy?”

Callahan recognized Amanda’s tone. This was more than a casual inquiry. She was up to something. Still, listening to her, knowing how her brain was filtering through facts like flour through a sieve was fascinating. And sexy. “Good kid. I was his training officer. Quick study. Good at reading situations. Fast on his feet.”

“Relationships?”

“None that I know of. Why?”

Amanda shrugged. “He did good out there today. I like him. But before we go under fire I want to know he’s going to have your back.” She peeked up at him from under her lashes then. “Besides. He’s kinda cute.”

“I’ll personally vouch for the kid. He’s as solid as they come. Strong. Loyal. He took a bullet protecting two children before he was turned. I can’t imagine anything about Remmy being disingenuous.” He grinned, knowing his she wolf so very well, and getting hard just thinking about all the lusty images that flitted through his mind at his next words. “But if you want to get to know him… better…” Callahan looked up just as the pup walked in the locker room. He gave Amanda a sharp snap of his chin. With a crafty smile, she snipped their conversation short.
Remmy acknowledged them with an inclination of his head before pulling off his T-shirt with one hand and tossing it into his locker. Callahan grinned as Amanda snuck a look when neither man thought she was looking. Not to be outdone, Callahan had to do the same one-handed trick with his own T-shirt, flexing his muscles for effect.

Amanda made an appreciative noise, crossing her arms under her ample breasts and leaning against the lockers. “Now there’s a sight I could get used to.”

Remmy cast a glance at Callahan, who merely shrugged, trying unsuccessfully to smother a grin. “Should I be jealous, or thankful you like the view? I’m sure there’s a rule somewhere about ogling your fellow officers.”

Amanda glanced at Remmy, then back at Callahan. “You’re always hung up on the damn rules. Rules are made for breaking. And there’s more than enough of me to go ’round.”

Callahan laughed, completely delighted with Amanda’s line of thinking. Unfortunately, Remmy looked a little bug-eyed. Apparently he had no clue what to do with a woman like Amanda. Hell, Callahan couldn’t blame him. Sometimes he didn’t know what to do with her, either. Fortunately, he’d long ago figured out it was best to just give Amanda her way. It made everyone happy and no one got… well… dead.

“Look out, cub.” Callahan slapped the younger man on the back. “The Alpha Bitch has you in her sights.”

“But you guys… Aren’t you a couple?”

“Absolutely,” Callahan answered.

Amanda grinned. “Two’s a couple. Three’s… more fun.”

Callahan knew flirting was one thing to a young man — showing off, even. But having a woman like Amanda take him seriously? That was quite another. He knew this from first-hand experience. For the first time since Callahan had met Remmy, he could tell the younger man was in a situation he had no idea how to handle. He could just imagine the thoughts going through Remmy’s mind. Run with it and risk the wrath of his lieutenant, or ignore an Alpha and possibly get his throat ripped out…

No one ignored Amanda.

Amanda took the decision out of his hands. “Come on. I want to run. Join us.”

Callahan grinned. Nothing like a good run to introduce the kid to the ways of the pack. And they were pack. Born wolves or not, the knowledge seemed to be instinctive to all of them.

Stripping, he shifted. Amanda followed, only a moment behind him, and faster.

Click here if you want to purchase a copy of Takedown.

If you want to check out the wide range of Marteeka’s books, click here.

Contact Information:

Twitter
Blog
Website
Facebook

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Author & Book Spotlight – Marteeka Karland – Takedown – #bookspotlight – #authorspotlight

  1. Nevea Lane

    I love most books by the fabulous Marteeka Karland… I adore her as a person! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

