Tia Kelly – Yours – #AuthorSpotlight – #BookSpotlight

Join me in welcoming Author Tia Kelly to my blog. Tia weaves some beautiful romance stories, but her novella, Give Me You, is my favorite. The hero, Donovan Sinclair, has many of the qualities that I’m attracted to in a man, so it’s hardly surprising that he’s one of the finalists in Roxy’s Top Ten Heroes for 2013.

Tia has agreed to share a piece of herself with us. We’ll get to know about how she balances her family life with her writing, and what’s her idea of the ideal romantic getaway. And can you guess which of her books she’d like to see made into a movie?

I’m sure you can hardly wait to see what’s in store for you, so let’s get started.

I’m delighted to have you here. Let’s start by telling us, who is Tia Kelly, and why did you decide to write?

Hi Roxy! It’s always so hard to describe myself. I guess I’m just a girl that loves being lost in my imagination. It was my love for reading and storytelling as a child that probably fueled my passion to write.

Do you write full-time?

I put enough hours in each week to qualify for full time employment, but no, it’s my “other” career.

How do you balance family life with your writing?

I have to be flexible, yet firm with my schedule and life. I also have to be honest with everyone around me. If I am in the final sprint of writing, I know I will be a madwoman for a couple of weeks. I tell those close to me to stay clear and they respect that. They know that when I tune out to write, I need to escape, but it does not mean that I am putting them on the back burner. When I am not in writing mode, or even during it while taking breaks, I give everyone my all.

What’s the funniest/best/worst pick up line ever used on you? Have you ever incorporated it into any of your books?

I’ve heard a few wild ones, but none come to mind right now. I’m sure when I hear a good one in the future, it will find its way in a novel.

What is your idea of the ideal romantic getaway?

My ideal romantic getaway involves tropical climate, plenty of crystal clear water, beautiful people & culture around me, and Dwayne Johnson feeding me fresh fruit while we watch the sun set.

Tell us something interesting about you not many people know.

I love cooking just as much as I love to write. (Oh and sports, especially baseball… but I think everyone knows that already. *smile*)

Have ever written a character that was bits and pieces of you? Who was it?

Paige, the heroine in my upcoming novel, Playing for Love, has elements of me. That is probably why it was difficult to tell her story, because I was looking at pieces of me while writing about her.

Which of your books would you like to be made into a movie?

The Love Sessions

If you could date any character from any book you’ve written, who would it be? Why?

I fell in love with Donovan Sinclair the minute I started typing his story in Give Me You. There was something about him that made me smile. He has a lot of the characteristics I love in a man. I loved his friendship with Mya and how he carried himself, even when he faced obstacles later in The Love Sessions that threatened to break him. I also fell for Eric West during his appearance in The Love Sessions (he was also in Love’s Rebound), because he showed beautiful, unconditional love for his wife. Javier Fernández from Yours was just fun, sexy and the kind of alpha male I would love to hook up with if I ever let my inhibitions go.

What advice would you give to new or aspiring authors who are thinking about self publishing?

Write to make one person happy – you. If you do that, then you will be successful. And don’t ever give up, no matter what.

What’s your favorite book you’ve written?

The Love Sessions

What do you want your readers to gain from reading one of your books?

I just want to entertain readers by hopefully drawing them into a character’s life in a way that makes them care about them. For each story, what I hope they walk away with is usually different. With The Love Sessions, I just wanted to show a love that can survive the test of time even after “happily ever after” appears at the end of what we’ve read. In Playing for Love (release date in September), I want readers to learn the power of forgiveness, even if they are the person they need to forgive.

Which author(s) would you consider your greatest influence? Why?

Way too many to name! As for romance, I love how Donna Hill and Rochelle Alers weave culture into their stories. Francis Ray brought us loyal families and friends. Brenda Jackson continues to share strong legacies. Then I appreciate the sass and fun of Adrianne Byrd, along with Ann Christopher’s smart, witty romances. Farrah Rochon taps into my love of sports and romance. Most recently, newer authors Nia Forrester has influenced me with the way she brings reality into her contemporary fiction, Delaney Diamond for taking me to beautiful locales with sexy leading men, and Candace Shaw for her romance series works.

Tell us about your latest book/series.

The Wilkersons in Love is my latest series and the first book, Playing for Love, will be this month (September 2013). Kenneth is a professional baseball player that is trying to clean up his image after one scandal too many. He meets Paige, a former socialite, who has a few blemishes of her own that she has to deal with. He only plays to win, even if he finds himself up against a woman that once vowed to never lose herself to love again. Playing for Love is the first novel in a four-part romance series.

What can readers expect from you for the rest of 2013?

The second title from The Wilkersons in Love series, Taste for Love, will be released in the Winter.

Blurb:

Yours – Teresa Clarke always lived by the rules… until tonight. Javier Fernández felt like a man against the world until Teresa invited him into hers. For this love affair… one night might not be long enough.

Excerpt:

Reaching out to stroke her cheek, he asked, “Nervous?”
She shook her head slowly and looked away, and then she noticeably swallowed. “A little.”
He studied her, knowing he was not dealing with a young woman, but someone that could easily be his equal. Yet their behavior scared her. The evening before, the liquor she drank removed her inhibitions. Now sober, she was aware of what they were about to do and it obviously troubled her.
Javier reached out to rub the back of her neck, letting his fingers move up through her thick hair. “Bésame.”
“What?” she asked, her breathless response excited him.
“Kiss me.” His command was strong, yet sultry. The contours of Javier’s sharp, angular jaw softened and inviting eyes confirmed his desire.
Javier bent down to kiss her, brushing her lips tenderly to reassure her. When Teresa did not relax, he repeated the gesture once more.
“Desde que te conocí no hago nada más que pensar en ti,” he muttered along the bend of her neck while placing a trail of sensual kisses on her skin. Teresa’s body moved closer to his, grinding against his growing erection as the words flowed out of his mouth. The melodic language he spoke seduced her.
“W-wh-what did you just say?”
Javier swiftly removed her blouse and ran both hands under the camisole she was left wearing. With his fingers touching the soft skin of her waist, he pulled back long enough to answer her.
Looking down into her heavy-lidded seductive eyes, he replied, “I can’t stop thinking about you. I want you, Teresa. Do you want me?”
Teresa nodded, briefly forgetting her fears. His fingertips grazing the underside of her breasts as Javier moved his hands beneath her bra reminded Teresa of why she was still nervous.
“What is it, querida?”
Teresa pulled away, moving her camisole down to cover her exposed skin. He watched her taking in the bright lights in the bathroom and the vast mirror catching every move they made.
Javier stepped forward, placing both of his long arms on either side of her entrapping her between his body and the vanity. Reassuring her, he looked into her eyes and said, “Te deseo.”
He expected Teresa to question his words, asking for another translation. Instead of telling her, Javier decided he was going to show her how much he wanted her.

Buy Links:

Amazon

Backlist:

The Love Sessions series:
 Love’s Rebound (a novella)
 Give Me You (a novella)
 Save Me From You (a novella)
 The Love Sessions
o Yours (a novella)
o Wilkersons in Love series:
 Playing for Love (September 2013)

Contact Information:
blog – http://www.tiawithapen.wordpress.com
website – http://www.tiawithapen.wordpress.com
Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/tiakelly
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/authortiakelly
Email: tiawithapen@gmail.com

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Tia Kelly – Yours – #AuthorSpotlight – #BookSpotlight

  1. Reblogged this on tia kelly and commented:
    Thank you Roxy Wilson for the featuring Yours during your Book Spotlight today!

  2. Nice interview! It’s always nice to learn more about the authors whose books we read! All the best to you, Tia!

  3. Pingback: Book Spotlight ~ And Then ~ Tia Kelly #BYNR @AvidReadersCafe #bookspotlight | Roxy Wilson

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

