Jamallah Bergman – Constant Surprises (The Wrong Numbers Series) – #AuthorInterview #BookSpotlight

Author Jamallah Bergman is a wonderful lady and a friend of mine. Therefore, it’s with great pleasure I have her here on my blog today. She’s written some wonderful stories, but my absolute favorite is If Only You Knew. She’s had a few releases this year including The Admission, The Biker Next Door, and her very latest bestseller, Renzo.

Today, Jamallah will tell us a few things about herself, as well as give a shout-out to a fellow author. Can you guess who s/he is?

So join me, folks, in welcoming this lovely lady.

Now let’s get started.

I’m delighted to have you here. Let’s start by telling us, who is Jamallah Bergman, and why did you decide to write?

Well Jamallah Bergman is a woman who has been through more than the average human being. I have to say that the main reason why I started writing was because I had a story to tell, something that came from the heart that had to be told and even though I tried and tried to no avail to get my 1st story out, it took a fellow author to help me get a step up and be able to get me to where I am right now and I am thankful for him for helping me out (want to again thank Mike Arsuaga for helping me) But I am also very silly and have a funny sense of humor, I always greet people with a hug, honestly everybody I meet, I hug them unless I know that they don’t want to be hug then I give them a handshake. But nine times out of ten I give them a hug cause that’s just how I am, everybody enjoys a hug and it’s a great experience to get a hug from someone, it makes you feel good and it brings you joy to get a hug from someone.

How do you balance family life with your writing?

Well my daughter is in high school, so while she’s in school that’s when I do my writing.

Tell us something interesting about you not many people know.

I am EXTREMELY shy. I know that sounds kind of funny for those that have met me in the flesh. But it takes me a while to get comfortable around people. And even though I do write romance, I have an even harder time with men. I think that even before I started writing Romance and especially erotica, some men think that what I write, I end up doing in real life. Well I am sorry to tell you but that is not the case with me.

Have ever written a character that was bits and pieces of you? Who was it?

I have to say that every single character that I write about has bits and pieces of me in it. Marley (from If…Only You Knew) was ALL ME because it dealt with a topic that I have ALWAYS had a problem with….letting that special someone know how much they mean to you without getting your own feelings hurt with the results. Brooke (from The Lady of Gladstone Manor) dealt with insecurities about appearance which was and still is something that I deal with today. Regina (from Special Kind of Woman) dealt with humiliation as well as shyness. I can go on but those three in particular hit a nerve with me while I was writing them. Like I said, whenever you read my books, every bit of those characters are a part of me.

Which of your books would you like to be made into a movie?

I would really love to see either If….Only You Knew or maybe The Admission to be made into a movie. Both are really great stories and I would love to see them made into a feature movie…or hell even put on Hallmark,lol.

If you could date any character from any book you’ve written, who would it be? Why?

I would have to say Roy from Constant Surprises. Something about a cowboy does something to me plus the fact that he’s a gentleman as well as a handsome cowboy is good enough for me.

What’s your favorite book or series you’ve written?

* By far I have to say that my favorite book has to be Sorry…Wrong Number. I swear to God I must have been crazy to write up something as crazy as what would happen when you get a wrong number call. Honestly when I started writing it, I kept saying WOW during the entire writing process. What happens between the two main characters, Marcie and Jonathan, is something that is completely unreal but absolutely HAWT!

Have you ever based your characters on real people?

In If…Only You Knew, my male character Richard was and is based on someone that I’ve known since childhood. He was a guy who meant the world to me as a friend. I honestly hated high school because I was often teased and bullied on a daily basis because of my weight and my shyness. But this guy, who I will only call by the initial “J”, treated me like an equal. He never made fun of me, he always made me laugh when he felt like I was down. I wanted to tell him my true feelings for him BUT I decided not to for fear of losing my friendship with him. I had always had a problem with letting men know that I cared about my true feelings for them because in the end, I was the one who got hurt and ended up losing their friendship over it. Well with “J”, I treasured our friendship up until he graduated from high school, since he was a year ahead of me. Well after years of thinking, I decided to write the story because honestly it’s a subject that plenty of people have had to deal with in their lives. As far as whether or not I ever told “J” how I felt, the answer to that is no. Even to this day he doesn’t really know that I wrote that story with him in mind. I said one of these days I would tell him when I felt the time is right.

Do you listen to music while you write? Are there any other rituals you do?

I listen to love songs from the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. I have a playlist of songs on my computer and when I am either writing or editing I play it. I also must have my tea, whether it’s hot or cold, sitting right beside me when I am writing. It always seems to calm me and gets me right in the mood to write plus it helps with my sweet fix when I don’t have anything else sweet in my house.

Tell us about your latest book/series.

Well my latest book Constant Surprises which is Book 2 in the Wrong Number Series. It tells Roy story. Now for those who don’t know Roy, you must get Book 1, Sorry…Wrong Number to know all about Roy Fulton. Roy heads back home in Book 2, to live out his life on his farm in Herrington, Kansas, as well as to attend his high school reunion. This is where he meets with the woman that he had loved since childhood, Amie Brown. Amie was adopted by the Brown’s when she was a baby and being the only person of color in a predominately white town, made her life in Herrington a nightmare for most of the people shunned her because of the fact that not only was she half black but she was also half Japanese. None of the boys that she knew would go out with her because if they did, they would be ostracized by the community. But things have changed since the last time they saw each other and it makes for a great story.

What can readers expect from you for the rest of 2013?

Right now I am working on a series about the Cipriano brothers of Kellington Pennsylvania. Each brother will have their own story, which will consist of four books. The first book is called Renzo, who is the oldest brother. Book 2 will be Simone, Book 3 will be Gianni and Book 4 will be Federico. I really love how this series is going to go. The 1st book is right now in proofs so I am waiting to see when the actual date it will be out. Right now I’m working on edits for Simone and I can’t wait to tackle Gianni’s story. So it’s going pretty good.

Blurb:

Herington, Kansas has always been home for Roy Fulton since childhood and now he finally returns to stay as well as to attend his high school class reunion.
All Roy has ever wanted was to start a farm and a family with the one woman he loved. But there is only one problem with this dream…… the woman he has wanted all his life hasn’t been in it for years.
Herington was a place in Amie Brown’s past that she often wished to forget. Now a successful restaurateur in Atlanta, Amie heads home to a place where she was once scrutinized as well as subjected to ridicule by the townspeople.
All except for the one person who never judged her while growing up, the man who took her heart…..Roy Fulton. When Amie and Roy meet at long last, the sparks between the two are as hot as ever.
However, Amie soon lets Roy know that over the years, things have changed, things that she doesn’t know if he will accept or not.
Read on as Amie and Roy come to terms with the past as they make way for their future together.

Excerpt:

“I betcha can’t go higher than me!” shouted an eight-year-old Amie running over to the swing set.
Roy was right behind her, wearing a pair of Wrangler jeans, a blue shirt, and sneakers, even back when he was a kid he was adorable. “Nuh uh, I’m gonna go higher than you, Amie!” Soon they were both grabbing a swing next to each other. “Ready!”
“Set!” Amie said.
“Go!” Roy said.
They started swinging back and forth, something they did every day during recess. It was the only thing she could do to get close to him without having the teachers bugging her to stay away. Even as a little girl, adults would make assumptions about her and tried to keep her away from the other kids. But after her parents complained about the blatant racism to the principal, her teachers weren’t as open about it.
Pumping her little legs, she looked over watching Roy staring back at her. They kept their eyes on one another getting higher and higher. But something happened. Her seat started to buckle underneath her sending her sailing into the wind and landing hard in the sand. When she tried to stand up, the swing came back hitting her shoulder blade with a sickening smack, making her fall back down again with a scream.
“Amie!” he shouted. He jumped off the swing running over to where she lay on the ground. He helped her up. She was crying and spitting out mouthfuls of sand.
“My shoulder, ow…my shoulder hurts so bad, I want my mommy!” Amie cried.
“Ms. Mackenzie!”
Thankfully Amie had only suffered a big bruise on her upper back. Although it was bad enough for her to stay home from school for a couple of days. On the second day, she was at home in bed eating soup, a sandwich, and drinking some of her favorite apple juice.
“Amie, you got a visitor, sweetheart,” her father Richard said with a smile peering in from the hallway.
Soon she saw a big bouquet of flowers walking towards her with Roy holding them tightly together in his little hands. He took off his cowboy hat when he stood next to her bed looking every bit of nervousness. But when she smiled at him, the look of worry slowly melted away replaced with that sweet smile of his. “Are those for me?” she asked with a sparkle in her eyes.
“I thought I would bring them to you because it was my fault you got hurt.” He handed her the beautiful bouquet of assorted flowers. She held them close to her, taking in the sweet smell.
“It wasn’t your fault, Roy, it was my fault. I shouldn’t have tried to get up so high on that swing.”
He sat down on the side of the bed next to her. “No, it was my fault cause if I hadn’t kept telling you I would get higher than you on the swings, we wouldn’t have went and did it. I got so scared for you, Amie. Then you started crying, I got even more scared for you. When are you going to be back in school?”
“Probably at the end of the week,” said her father who was still standing at the doorway watching the two of them talking. “It was sweet of you to bring her flowers.”
He then asked, “Say, Roy, would you like something to eat?”
“No, sir, I’ve got to head on home my mom is out in the car. If it’s all right with you, Mr. Brown, can I come by on Saturday and sit with Amie?”
“Sure you can, son. I’ll come pick you up at noon,” Richard said.
Abby came into the room carrying a bottle of children’s liquid aspirin to help ease Amie’s aches. A smile came across her face when she saw the flowers. “Wow, you got flowers, wasn’t that sweet of Roy to bring you those today. Let me give you your medicine then I’ll go put these in a vase.” She poured a spoonful of the red liquid onto the teaspoon. Amie opened her mouth only to make a face while she swallowed. Taking a sip of juice, hoping the taste would go away didn’t help her much. She got up under her blanket to get comfortable.

Her mom asked, “Where do you want me to put them, sweetheart?”
“Over here on my nightstand so I can see them,” Amie said. She had never been happier in her life as she was at that moment. Soon the medicine was doing its job, and she fell asleep.
Her last thought before sleep overtook her was—she was in love with Roy Fulton.

Buy Links:

Secret Cravings Publishing
Amazon
B&N
ARe

Contact Information:

Twitter
My Interview Blog
My Personal Blog
Website
Goodreads
Facebook
My Romance Novel Center Profile
Kindlegraph

Author Bio:

Writer Jamallah Bergman was born in Jamaica Queens, New York. Although her family moved around a bit; from New York to Alabama to Georgia. Jamallah’s childhood was mostly spent in Roswell, Georgia.
At the age of twelve, Jamallah started writing scripts for her doll babies. As she got older, her inclination to write grew.
Soon after reading her first romance novel at fifteen; she became hooked on romance and deviated from writing her doll baby stories, to romantically inclined stories.
Her thirst to write eventually sent her from one out of the box experience to another. She eventually engaged her thoughts and writing into writing erotic stories.
As Jamallah’s interest as a reader grew, questions aroused her curiosity. Why were the heroines in the stories she loved so much, nothing like herself. She felt none of the women were full figured, or plump. To coin a phrase from the well-known comedienne Mo’Nique, like “Thick Madame”, a thick and curvy woman.
Often she became upset because she felt there should be stories out there about all types of women, including thick, beautiful women like herself. Why were there no stories about full figured women who got the handsome hunk? She would ask herself after reading another romance story where the beautiful main character was thin.
After researching and finding very few stories about curvy women, Jamallah thought it was time the romance readers market read more stories about full figured heroines.
She started to write stories where the full figured woman ‘ALWAYS’ got her man!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Jamallah Bergman – Constant Surprises (The Wrong Numbers Series) – #AuthorInterview #BookSpotlight

  1. Jamallah Bergman

    Thanks so much for having me Roxy….it was real fun *BIG HUGS* 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

