Author & Book Spotlight – Aubrey Rose – Me, Cinderella?

Join me in welcoming author Aubrey Rose to my blog. I first knew about her when I read an article, Erotic romance author turned down Amazon publishing deal. Today you’ll get the opportunity to find out even more about her, like how she balances her family life with her writing, what she wants readers to gain from reading one of her books, and which author she considers her greatest influence. Of course, she’ll tell us exactly what happened when Amazon approached her and the rationale behind her decision.

So, let’s get started.

I’m delighted to have you here. Let’s start by telling us, who is Aubrey Rose, and why did you decide to write?

I’m a thirty-year old woman from San Diego who loves reading, dancing, and carrot juice. I decided to write because I had a lot of stories floating around in my head, and because I have always worked in math-heavy fields. I wanted to challenge myself and do something out of my comfort zone.

Do you write full-time?

Nope – writing is just a part-time hobby. My day job is managing a small company, and I also do cover designs for fellow self-published authors.

How do you balance family life with your writing?

My boyfriend is very supportive, and after a few months of living together he quit his job to help me with editing and marketing. My mom thinks it’s hilarious that I write romance books.

What’s the funniest/best/worst pick up line ever used on you? Have you ever incorporated it into any of your books?

I met my boyfriend at a showing of the movie Labyrinth, and the first thing he said to me was “David Bowie’s codpiece is really the star of this movie.” We told jokes and laughed for two hours and the rest is history. I don’t think there’s a way I could incorporate that into a book, though!

Tell us something interesting about you not many people know.

When I was a kid, I lived for a year on a tiny island in the South Pacific near Tahiti. We had no electricity or running water, and I had to take a boat to school every single day.

Have ever written a character that was bits and pieces of you? Who was it?

Every character has a little bit of me in it, even the villains! I would say that Brynn is the character most like me, though – a math major, quite insecure about relationships. She wants to visit her mom’s grave, which is something I struggled with personally in the years after my dad died – we left that country and I’ve never been able to go back and visit his grave.

Which of your books would you like to be made into a movie?

I think Me, Cinderella? would make a great movie.

If you could date any character from any book you’ve written, who would it be? Why?

My upcoming book about Trixie and Asher (the drummer from the band Wilder Side in my rock star romance series) introduces Asher more deeply. He’s heavily modeled after my boyfriend – a tall, lanky skater who is kind and sincere, loves music, and has a big dick. I am lucky to be dating him in real life, haha!

Briefly tell us about what happened when Amazon approached you. What was your final decision? Why?

I got an email from Amazon offering to buy the rights to my book and spoke with one of their editors on the phone. She was very nice and encouraging, and I really wanted to work with Montlake. However, the math just didn’t work out unless Amazon would have promoted me heavily, and they made no promises about the marketing they would do. I think I can become a bestselling author myself just by relying on the power of my fans, though!

What advice would you give to new or aspiring authors who are thinking about self publishing?

Do it! The most important thing to sell copies initially is a good cover and blurb. The most important thing to keep selling copies is a good book. If you have both, you just need a little bit of marketing at the beginning to give you a push.

What’s your favorite book you’ve written?

Me, Cinderella? is the first full-length novel I’ve written, and I’m proud that I had the determination to finish it. I never thought I would become a published novelist, and I’m so happy that readers enjoy my work.

Have you ever based your characters on real people?

My boyfriend is super romantic, so sometimes I steal his sweet talk for my heroes.

What do you want your readers to gain from reading one of your books?

Mostly, I want them to have fun reading. If I can create a world that they fall into and enjoy, that to me is a successful story.

Which author would you consider your greatest influence? Why?

Jasinda Wilder has always been a role model for me. She’s first and foremost a great writer, and she’s also a savvy marketer. I also love that she writes strong, beautiful women.

Tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is the Big Girl boxed set, which is a collection of rock star romance stories that follow one couple (Shannon and Julian) on a tour from California to Europe. I really enjoyed writing it, and my next novella will be part of the same story universe.

What can readers expect from you for the rest of 2013?

Right now, I am working on the sequel to Me, Cinderella? as well as a romantic comedy called Jenny Rockfort: Secret Undercover Stripper. I hope it does well, because I am having a ton of fun writing this story!

Blurb:

One kind deed can change your life forever…

Brynn Tomlin could never afford to follow her heart. But when she sees a stranger shivering in the snow outside of the college library, an inexplicable urge leads her to buy him a hot cup of coffee. It’s just a small act of kindness, a few words of conversation. Brynn should be focusing on her finals, after all, not on the man who looked up at her gratefully with piercing blue eyes.

He could have been anyone – a janitor on break, a graduate student, a bum. But the man standing outside in the cold turns out to be Dr. Eliot Herceg, one of the most brilliant minds in mathematics and heir to a fortune. After years of reclusive isolation, he now finds his heart awakening to the kind girl whose name he does not know.

Brynn has spent her life trying to forget her desires, and Eliot’s deep wounds have taken nearly a decade to heal. After so much hurt, will either of them be able to open their hearts again?

Excerpt:

Before my mother died, she told me stories. I sat on her lap and listened to her spin golden fairy tales through the air. We never had much, but I didn’t notice the cracks in our plaster walls when she talked about Cinderella putting on her crystal slippers and waltzing all night with Prince Charming.

“Once upon a time”…the stories always begin the same way, but from these beginnings my mother wove new tales that danced in all directions of the compass. She told me stories of castles and dragons, stories of men who flew above the clouds to reach the sun and gods who rained jealous fury upon their rivals. Stories of lovers whose passion rose above earthly desire and changed their fate to a different end than the world had meant for them. Stories of hope and of death.

None of those stories were true, but mine is.

Buy Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Backlist:

Big Girl Backstage Pass – Book One in the Big Girl series
Big Girl Going On Tour – Book Two in the Big Girl series
Big Girl Rocking in the Sunshine – Book Three in the Big Girl series
Big Girl Playing in Paris – Book Four in the Big Girl series
Big Girl Proposal in Paris – Book Five in the Big Girl series

Contact Information:

Twitter
blog
website
Goodreads
Facebook

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Author & Book Spotlight – Aubrey Rose – Me, Cinderella?

  1. Thanks for having me!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

