Sarah Cass – Dominion Falls Series

Sarah Cass is my special guest today. Here is an opportunity for you to learn about her Dominion Falls series and the many other books she’s working on. And I bet you’d never guess what most people don’t know about this talented author. So, let’s get started.

Sarah, it’s a pleasure having you here today. Can you tell us how you decided to become an author?

I’m happy to be here, Roxy. I always like traveling around the interwebs and meeting new people.

The decision to become an author, for me, happened years ago, back before ebooks were a thing. I had left the work force to become a stay at home mom to my two little girls. I had always enjoyed writing and I role-played and wrote some fanfic. I loved coming up with some crazy ideas and rolling with them. One day I wrote a story that someone read and said I should try to get published.

At that time I thought it was a crazy, insane dream I’d never accomplish, but I’d sure have fun trying. Today, I’m happy to say I’m multi-published and have books scheduled at least through 2013, and am waiting on word for a series to be released in 2014.

What are some things most people don’t know about you?

Well, most people know I have podophobia. What they don’t realize is that I won’t even go to your blog for a week if you have a post or an ad with feet on it. There’s a book I wanted to read based on the blurb, but the cover showed a foot so I couldn’t even hold the book in my hands. It’s weird and stupid, and my husband enjoys teasing me by taunting me with his foot…but it’s real.

I guess you were looking beyond the weird. So how about this? I’m a dancer, a singer, a knitter, a sewer, and a photographer. I enjoy all things creative. But, I’m also aces at math and science. Both sides of my brain love to get a workout.

Are there any books you’re currently reading?

Oh my, yes. I just finished re-reading the Harry Potter series (really enjoyed it far more the second time around, not sure why. First time I was “eh”). I am thoroughly entranced by Kerrianne Coombes Demon Tales series. Unfortunately, I broke my Kindle so book 4 will have to wait until I can fix/replace it. In the meantime I’ve been reading Incarnation by Emma Cornwall and The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd.

What message(s) you wish to convey in your books?

My characters, like people, are deeply flawed. They will piss you off, they’ll make you laugh, they’ll make you cry, but they also always grow and change. They learn from their mistakes. My fantasy worlds aren’t perfect, people aren’t shiny, they are ugly and gritty and sometimes you want to smack them. That doesn’t mean you don’t still want to see them learn and grow and how having love in their life changes them, even as it challenges them.
No one is perfect.
No love is perfect.
But life is always interesting.

If, for one moment in time, you were able to switch places with a character from one of your books, who would it be? Why?

For just one moment in time? Holy cow, that’s a tough one. I think that would have to be Jane Doe…but I can’t tell you what moment because it’ll ruin the surprise. 😀

At the risk of showing favoritism, who has been your favorite hero/heroine to write?

I almost always answer this with Jane or Cole from my Dominion Falls series…but honestly? Every single person I’ve written has been amazing in their own way. Each so different, I just can’t choose.

Finish this sentence: I want to be remembered as…
The Queen of Trauma Drama.
Yup, seriously. That’s been my nickname since way back when I still RPG’d. I’m telling you, me & the crazy-ass plots? We’re besties. I really put my characters through hell. 😀

Tell us about your latest release?

Derailed is Book 2 in the Dominion Falls series. My amnesiac Jane Doe’s forgotten past is catching up with her. Book 2 is full of chaos and tragedy and ends with a…

Ooh, I almost told you. You’ll have to read to find out 😉
Oh, but I can tell you Jane finally stops going by Jane Doe in this story…and the name she chooses is quite significant. 😉

If this story was made into a movie, who would you cast as the hero and heroine?

Oh, that’s easy, peasy. I already have my dream cast up on my pinterest board.
For Jane Doe – Dominique McElligott
For Cole – Jasen Wade (seriously, yum)
Here’s my pinterest board so you can see my dream cast: http://bit.ly/15eOGRo

So you’ve finished this story. What can readers expect from you next? When?

Book 3 (Dark Territory) in the Dominion Falls series will be out in September. That will wrap up the original trilogy. I have books 4 & 5 waiting for rewrites and submission, but I’m putting those off until 2014 to work on other worlds, and because there’s a year between books 3 & 4 anyhow 😉

Beyond that…in December my first contemporary romance will be released. It’s a holiday story called Santa, Maybe. I’ve turned that into a series as well, all in the same town, all on holidays, and I’m waiting on word as to whether those will be contracted too.

Also, I have several stories in the works. I’m working hot and heavy on a paranormal series right now, but I also have a couple UF and a steampunk and a historical western paranormal in the works.

In other words, I’m keeping busy 😉

Now, on to your latest release, Derailed.

Blurb:

The sins of a past she can’t remember could destroy a present she’ll never forget.

The crimes of her forgotten past threaten the very life Jane Doe has learned to cherish.

Jane is out of time. With a warrant on her head, a maniac out for her blood, and a secret baby on the way, something has to give.

Without Cole Mitchell’s help to find the answers, there may be no hope left.

Cole has nowhere left to hide. He unwittingly let Jane into his heart, and is ready to share the secret of his dark past.

Fate has a way of playing its hand, and tragedy strikes. With the world crumbling around them, it’s easy to lose faith. If they can’t forgive past sins, they have no hope for the future.

Because the noose waits for no man or woman.

Excerpt:

“Jane.”
She yelped when he grabbed her wrists and yanked her close. Like a startled deer, she froze in place. Then a small gasp of air and she sagged. “I’m sorry. My head. It’s racing. I don’t know what to think.”
“First off, stop worryin’ about Graham. He ain’t sendin’ no telegram.”
“You don’t know that.”
“Sure I do. After Michael broke his nose, he shut up real fast.” Cole laughed when her jaw dropped. When the amusement started to light up her features, it warmed him all the way to his toes. “Yeah. Graham was running his mouth, and Michael beat on him. He got knocked out cold.”
“Michael?” Through her tears, a laugh escaped. “He’s half Graham’s size. Goodness, he’s barely bigger than I am. How did he do that?”
“He said something about five brothers and a mean older sister.”
She shook her head with a sigh. “That is no guarantee, Cole. He could just be biding his time until he has something to get me on. He doesn’t care for me.”
“Let me worry about Graham.” He tugged her close, shoving the papers from his lap. Once she was settled there, he smirked. “Now ya got some stuff here that you gotta go through, and it’s all reading. That should excite ya.”
“You know what, Cole? I’m not excited. The more I learn about myself, the more trouble I seem to be in. I really am at a point where I don’t care anymore.”
“That don’t sound like the Jane I know.”
She snorted. “No one knows me. Not even me.”
“Bull.”
“I’m not in the mood for arguing with you.”
“But arguin’ is what we do second best.”
“Cole.”
He grinned at the small twitch he saw at the corner of her mouth. “And much as I’d love to remind ya what we do best…I don’t think you could handle it right now.”
“Please.”
“Besides, if we got ourselves hurt again because of our…best…Daisy would be awful mad.” He chuckled when she turned away as far as she could to hide her smile. “But that ain’t ever stopped me before.”
She let out a small squeal when his hand slipped under her skirt and along her thigh. Swatting at his hand, she playfully beat at his chest when he leaned in to capture her lips.
Her lips were warm and inviting. He hadn’t realized how much he’d missed her touch until she was there. He pulled her close and traced the seam of her lips with his tongue. She opened up to him so fast it took his breath away, and he shifted to lay her down on the floor.
She planted her hands on his chest and pushed him back. “Wait.”

Links to where Derailed can be purchased:

Secret Cravings Publishing
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
ARe
Bookstrand
Goodreads

Back list:

Masked Hearts
Sweet Cravings Website – http://bit.ly/12z5EuC
Amazon – http://amzn.to/ZYH9CP
Barnes & Noble – http://bit.ly/18a4Gr7
All Romance Ebooks – http://bit.ly/12MaZ0K

Changing Tracks (Dominion Falls Series Book 1):
Secret Cravings Publishing (http://bit.ly/14XQPTl)
Amazon (http://amzn.to/11DDgcG)
Barnes & Noble (http://bit.ly/XcTs0R)
All Romance Ebooks (http://bit.ly/WJxSiA)

Contact Information:

Redefining Perfect
Sarah’s StoryLines
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads

Author Bio:

Sarah Cass’s world is regularly turned upside down by her three special-needs kids and loving mate, so she breaks genre barriers, dabbling in horror, straight fiction, and urban fantasy. An ADD tendency leaves her with a variety of interests that include singing, dancing, crafting, cooking, and being a photographer. She fights through the struggles of the day, knowing the battles are her crucible and though she may emerge scarred, she’s also stronger. While busy creating worlds and characters as real to her as her own family, she leads an active online life with her blog, Redefining Perfect, which gives a real and sometimes raw glimpses into her life and art.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

