Darlene P. Winston’s The Other Woman

It’s always a pleasure when I have a fellow SCP author as my guest and today is no exception. Let’s welcome Darlene P. Winston. She’ll tell us what’s the most courageous thing she’s ever done and a few of her favorite things. She’ll also tell us about her latest release, The Other Woman. Quite frankly, I’m very curious about this book since the title is so intriguing. Don’t you think so?

Darlene, I’m delighted to have you here. Can you tell us how you decided to become an author?

I’ve been fascinated with books since I was a kid and have always been told that I tell great stories. So, I thought I’d join my story telling abilities with my love of books.

What is the most courageous thing you’ve ever done?

Self-publishing my first novel.

Which authors have you been reading lately?

Brenda Jackson (always) and Farah Rochon.

Here’s an opportunity to tell us in a few words your favorite:

Author: Brenda Jackson
Band/singer: Anthony Hamilton
Movie/TV Show: Love & Basketball
Color: Red
Season: Fall
Drink: Ginger Ale
Food: Shrimp
Sport: Football

What inspired you to write this book?

LOL, the characters themselves. This story started as a means to tell the story of one of the characters in my first novel. His aunt Marilyn who is in The Other Woman took over and decided that the Harriston’s story was more important and needed to be told.

If The Other Woman was made into a movie, whom would you cast as the hero and heroine?

If The Other Woman was made into a movie, I would cast Monica Calhoun as the heroine and Laz Alonso as the hero.

So you’ve finished this story. What can readers expect from you next? When?

Readers have been asking for so I have to deliver the sequel to Where I Wanna Be (my first novel). Hopefully I will have it submitted for consideration with my publishing company within the next few months.

Now, let’s get to your story, The Other Woman.

Blurb:

Krys Harriston has what every girl wants—a good job, a handsome hardworking husband, two beautiful kids and a loving home…everything that makes her happy. But there’s another woman out for revenge trying to break up her marriage, and this is one woman Krys may not be able to compete with. Her husband, Cameron, never imagined that the one person who loves him unconditionally is the very one causing his world to come crashing down around him. Does he have enough strength to fight the evil forces and save his marriage or will he allow it all to slip away?

Excerpt:

“Okay, Cameron,” she said barely above a whisper, “You deal with it your way. But you’re going to have to deal with it alone because I’m not taking this shit.”
He looked up at her. “Are you leaving?”
She looked at him and then said, “No, I’m not leaving.” She pointed at him. “You are.”
“What?”
She got up to go to the bathroom. “You heard me, I’m tired of feeling like a stranger in my own home. Get your shit and get out!” With that, she slammed the bathroom door.
Krys knew he must have been stunned at her ultimatum. Finally he followed her into the bathroom and stopped beside her as she stood brushing her teeth.
“What good will my moving out do? What about the kids?” He stepped back to lean against the door jamb.
Krys looked over at him as she leaned over the sink to rinse her mouth. If he could have read her mind, he would have heard her ask, Lord, where is my husband because this specimen standing before me sure isn’t the one I married? She reached for a towel. She wiped her mouth and continued to eye him. She stepped around him and walked out of the bathroom and got in the bed.
Cameron stood in the bathroom door. “Krys, I asked you a question.”
“Damn it, Cameron, the good it’ll do is I’ll have some peace of mind. And as for the kids, they’ll be just fine. You can come by to pick them up and spend as much time with them as you want.”
“And what will this do to them?”
“What will you staying do to or for them, Cameron? Do you think that they haven’t noticed the difference in our relationship?” She started to cry again. Damn it, the tears just keep coming, she thought. “What do you think that is doing to them?”
He moved over to her and tried to wrap his arms around her. She held up her hand to stop him. “Don’t.”
“I’m sorry, baby.”
“Me, too, Cameron.” At that moment she couldn’t contain the tears and all hell broke loose. “But, you know what? Sorry, doesn’t fucking help the way I’ve been feeling these past few weeks!” She wiped at the tears that continued to fall no matter how hard she willed them not to. “Sorry doesn’t excuse your actions toward me. Sorry doesn’t make me want to stay with your sorry ass after you swore to me that you’d forsake all others for me. Sorry hasn’t wrapped an arm around me at night nor has it given me an orgasm. Sorry sure as hell doesn’t make me think that you deserve my love after the way you’ve been treating me.
“Well, guess what? I’m sorry, too, Cameron, sorry that I’ve put up with your mother’s shit just to save face with you. Maybe if I’d told her ass off the very first time she looked down her nose at me we wouldn’t be in this mess. I’m just so fucking sorry to have to put your ass out, but you know what? You’ve got to go. And when you realize that your mother can only be your mother and not your lover and friend then you let me know what you’ve decided to do about this situation.” She paused long enough to draw breath into her lungs. This time she spoke more calmly, “So Cameron, I say again, get your shit and get out.”

Links to where The Other Woman can be purchased:

Secret Cravings Publishing

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Bookstrand

Backlist:

Where I Wanna Be

Author Bio:

DARLENE P. WINSTON is a native of Waverly, Virginia. She is an avid reader and spent much of her adolescence at the local library, where she got excited about books and the power of words. She earned a B.S. in Business Administration from Virginia Union University in Richmond and years later she returned to school for a master’s in Business with a concentration in Information Technology Management from Touro University International. Currently Darlene resides in Chester, Virginia with her husband, son and their dog and she has a daughter in college. Darlene loves bowling, traveling and spending time with her husband and two kids when their busy schedules permit. She works full time for a large insurance company.

Contact Information:

dpw1102@verizon.net
http://www.darlene-p-winston.net

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

