What’s going on?

Life has been throwing me a few curve balls lately, but I’m hanging in there. There’s no doubt, though, that I’ve been having a whale of a time as it relates to my journey as a newbie author. This journey has been a really interesting one, especially as I’ve had the privilege and pleasure of seeing my story He’s So Into You published just a few months after it was penned and submitted to an Indie publisher.

First and foremost, I’m sooo proud to be an SCP author. This publisher dared to take a chance on a person who had absolutely no experience in writing romance stories, and aligned me with an editor, Tamara Hoffa, who was nothing but patient and loving and lovable as we went through not one or two, but five rounds of edits! Talk about someone having the patience of Job! 🙂 What’s more, both new and seasoned SCP authors are always willing to help and give me the encouragement I need as I fumble along the way. What a great team to be a part of!

And then, my dream became reality. He’s So Into You was released on 13 May. That was such a momentous event for me and weeks later I’m still beaming with excitement. But that wasn’t all. On 24 May, I received some good news. He’s So Into You hit the allromanceebooks.com (ARe) Bestseller List for interracial/multicultural romance. I even received a graphic as a token. For two weeks it was among Amazon.com Top 100 Bestseller List (multicultural/interracial), peaking at # 39 . For three weeks it was among Amazon.com Hot New Releases (multicultural/interracial), peaking at # 16.

I also had the pleasure of being interviewed by my fellow SCP authors. Christina Cole hosted me on her blog on 13 June, Raine Delight spotlighted He’s So Into You on 07 June and on 25 June it was featured on SSLY blog (this blog is co-hosted by Tamara Hoffa). What’s more, I was in the hotspot with Mahalia Levey a short time ago. Boy, was that visit fun! Jamallah Bergman would be hosting me on her blog next week.

One of the things I absolutely love about Facebook is the fact that I get the opportunity to meet some wonderful people, particularly fellow authors. Just recently, I met Beth Jones and she was kind enough to feature me on her blog, The Hungry Freelancer. You may check out my interview here.

But the fun isn’t over. I’m also a reviewer at Romance Novels In Color (RNIC). I’ve had the privilege of reviewing books by Farrah Rochon, M. J. Kane and Tiana Johnson (my review of Johnson’s short story will be published on RNIC in a few weeks’ time). At present, I’m working on Heather Long’s latest release, Marine Ever After and Melissa Schroeder’s The Santinis: Gianni. I’ve also been invited to be a reviewer on SSLY and am working on Tara Chevrestt’s Love Request.

It’s been a rejuvenating and rewarding experience, thus far. I know I’ve got a long way to go to perfect my writing craft, and I do have to learn to take the good reviews with the bad, but I wouldn’t trade this experience for the world.

So here’s my question: What’s going on with you?

I’ll be happy if you let me know. Just comment and I’ll get back to you. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, sassy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

