Which Character is Tricia Anderson Interviewing Today?

Today is the first time there’s a character interview on this blog. Please, welcome fellow SCP author, Tricia Anderson, who’s about to interview one of her characters.

Thank you so much for having us today, Roxy! Today I am sitting down and chatting with Cassandra, the heroine in the novel Queen of Savon, published by Secret Cravings Publishing.

Cassandra, tell me about your family – your parents, your siblings.

I have no parents or siblings. My parents were violently murdered when I was little. I was an only child. My grandfather, the sorcerer Malicar, found me and took me in.

How old were you when you came to live with your grandfather?

I was eight. He took me to the palace where he was the Royal Advisor and presented me to King Thomas. It was then that they decided I would be my grandfather’s apprentice and take his place as Advisor to Matthew, Thomas’s son, when Matthew took the throne. I took a vow to the crown.

Vow? What vow did you take?

I took a vow to protect Matthew and the kingdom as his Advisor for the rest of my life. I could not marry, I could not have children. I would forsake having a family for the King and Kingdom of Savon.

That’s awful young to make a commitment like that for the rest of your life!

As an orphan, I didn’t have many options. Besides, I got to grow up in a palace and spent nearly all my waking hours with Prince Matthew and his future Commander of the Army, Victor. We got into some adventures as children.

So you met the love of your life as a child. Did you have any idea you would end up together?

Hmm…I did. I was always fascinated with Matthew. When we were little he wasn’t very sure of me. I think I frightened him. But he always trusted me when we would lie under the tree and watch the clouds. It was my favorite thing to do with him. Then as we grew up our feelings for each other grew stronger, more passionate. But it was difficult to be madly in love with the King, a man I couldn’t keep for my own.

What about Victor? What were your feelings towards him?

I never really trusted Victor. He was a bully to Matthew. We didn’t have many kind things to say to each other. He did everything he could to exclude me from his and Matthew’s activities. And he became jealous when Matthew and I were together.

Did you warm up to him when you got older? I heard of a love triangle…

Aye. I sort of did. When we became adults, Victor offered me a chance at my dream – to have a husband and children of my own. The only problem is that Victor was not the man I wished to share this with. Matthew was. However, having the King of Savon as my own was not an option. So I relented and accepted his proposal. Before we eloped we slept together. The next morning Victor gave me to my enemy, Gorgon, who was at war with Matthew over rule of Savon.

No! How did you survive?

My beloved King Matthew had a great deal to do with it. But I’ve already shared too much. *winks*

Why do you think readers should read Queen of Savon?

If your readers are interested in a tale of majesty and magic, of passion and betrayal – then they will enjoy this book. There is sensual heat, there is everlasting love. Oh and a dragon. There’s a dragon too.

Thank you, Cassandra, for spending time with us today.

Thank you for having me! And thank you again, Roxy, for having me!

Blurb:

Cassandra is brought to the palace by her grandfather, the sorcerer Malicar, after her parents are brutally murdered. After being presented to King Thomas she is raised alongside two boys – Thomas’s son, Matthew and Victor, the young man chosen to be Matthew’s commander of the army.
However her life in the royal palace comes at a price. She is vowed into a life of servitude Matthew’s advisor, forfeiting the dream of having a husband and children of her own.
As they mature into adults, childhood curiosities turn to jealousy and burning desire. Cassandra finds herself caught between the two men and forced to make a decision – to throw away her vows for the life she dreamt about with a man she does not love or to stay shackled to the promises she made as a child to be with the man she wants with her heart, body and soul but cannot have.

Excerpt:

Cassandra firmly capped the bottle of herbs with a cork and slipped the container in her bag. She marked her books, stacking one on top of the other. Glancing out the window, she watched as Matthew gently kissed Stephana before helping her into the carriage.

Sighing, she pulled herself away from the window to gather more herbs. She picked up her books and the bag of bottles. Then, she hobbled to the door and struggled to open it with her one free hand.
Cassandra jumped back, startled, as she discovered Matthew standing in the doorway. He clung to the door frame as he stared at her.

“How may I serve, my lord?” she greeted as she awkwardly bowed to him.

“Where are you going?” he asked, barely audible.

“Home. I have much to do before I return in the morning and you leave for battle.”

Matthew paused. “I did not propose to Stephana.”

Cassandra set her items on a table nearby. “That was unwise, my lord.”

Matthew stared at her as he dug his fingernails into the wood of the frame. “Cassa, do not leave me like this.”

Cassandra swallowed as she heard the urgency in his voice. “Like what, my lord?”

“Like this—the formal address, the subservient nature. This.” Matthew stood up straight, taking a step to grip her arms in his hands.

“Tell me her name,” Matthew demanded.

“There is no one.”

“Tell me her name,” Matthew begged. “Tell me, and I will give her my heart and make her my bride. I swear this.”
Cassandra stared at him, tears filling her eyes. “What if she belongs to another man?” She looked away as the words she spoke seemed to crush him. He closed his eyes, fighting to defeat the truth, the truth he already must know. Capitalizing on his weakness, Cassandra pulled away. “I told you there is no one.”

He grasped her hand, pressing it to his heart. “No, my lady, I will win her. I will fight, and I will not stop until she is cradled in my arms. This I promise you. Do you hear me? This I promise you.”

Her tears burst their floodgates as she slipped her fingers from his. “I must go,” she stumbled out. “I have much to do. I must go.”

Cassandra scooped up her books then swept by Matthew and ran down the stairs. She cringed as she heard him call her name, his voice betraying his pain.

Links to buy the book:

Secret Cravings Publishing

Bookstrand

All Romance E-books

Barnes and Noble

Other books by Tricia Andersen:

Black Irish

Author’s links:

Blog
Facebook
Website
Twitter
Goodreads

Author’s Bio:

Tricia Andersen lives in Iowa with her husband, Brian and her three children – her sons, Jake and Jon, and her daughter, Alex. She graduated from the University of Iowa with a Bachelor of Arts in English and from Kirkwood Community College with an Associate of Arts degree in Communications Media/Public Relations. Along with writing (which she loves to do), Tricia coaches and participates in track and field, does kickboxing, reads, sews and is involved in many of her children’s activities.
Tricia is a member of the Romance Writers of America and RWA Chapter 177 From the Heart Romance Writers.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Which Character is Tricia Anderson Interviewing Today?

  1. This is already in my ever growing TBR pile and can’t wait to get to it.

  2. Tricia

    Lindsay and Roxy – I’m very happy to hear that!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

JA Huss

Official Blog of New York Times Bestselling Author, JA Huss

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, saucy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

