Mahalia Levey’s Trading Up & Taming Chaos

One of the coolest things about this blog, is that I get the opportunity to interview some of my favorite authors. Today’s no exception. It’s indeed a pleasure for me to welcome Mahalia ‘Hales’ Levey. I think I’ve read most of her published works, and Trading Up is one of them. In fact, you can read my review of this story on Goodreads or Amazon.. But that’s not all. Hales will talk about Taming Chaos, another recent release. What a prolific author!

So come and join Hales and me as she reveals some of her beauty secrets and which authors inspire her the most. And guess what, folks? One lucky person will receive a copy of Trading Up. All you have to do is simply make a comment about any aspect of this interview, and you might be the one to get the copy.

Mahalia, I’m delighted to have you here. Can you tell us how you decided to become an author?

I was writing on a forum with some friends, a shifter storyline mixed with some demon elements and a editor for a publishing house found me, she asked me why I was giving plots away for free and here I am two years later. I never had a desire to be published it just happened 😛

What do you do to stay grounded?

I am a really chill type of girl. I’m pretty well grounded and try to help others who are just beginning by sharing my positive and negative experiences and how to avoid some of the pitfalls I never knew about.

Do you have any beauty secrets you wish to share with your fans?

Beauty secrets? Well I wear wigs and minimal makeup. So my secret is wig it up if you want to sometimes it’s fun to have a great hairdo without all the work!

Which authors inspire you the most?

Jude Deveraux who I just met at RT and got a pic with! Sherrilyn Kenyon, Herman Hess, Shakespeare, Delilah Devlin, my sister, Elle James, Karin Tabke, Kate Douglas, and so many more.

Are there any books you’re currently reading?

I just finished reading a indie book. Real by Katy Evans and Moon by Laurann Dohner.

What message(s) you wish to convey in your books?

I always like to have some sort of positive message that can come from a negative experience. I love to show emotional growth in my heroes and heroines and the happy ever after ending, because a lot of times there is one if we allow ourselves to have one. I like to say sometimes we are our own downfall interfering with happiness over trivial things that in the long run don’t matter.

What is your greatest learning experience as a writer?

Patience and I’m still learning it!

At the risk of showing favoritism, who has been your favorite hero/heroine to write?

Sin from Not Since You. She was my first heroine on a forum I wrote in the very beginning before published and went through a lot as a young woman coming into herself. I never got a chance to give her a HEA. I will go back one day and write her YA years in a Wiccan series.

Finish this sentence: I want to be remembered as…a good friend.

Tell us about your latest releases?

Trading Up released a few weeks ago from Decadent Publishing. It’s my third IR in their 1NS series. Taming Chaos was released just recently from Secret Cravings Publishing.

So you’ve finished these stories. What can readers expect from you next? When?

A few months ago I contracted with SCP to finish my Rock Series and one of my fireman stories. Kiss Me Like You Mean It should be out late summer or early fall 😛
I’m also finishing Demonic Warrior the second in a trilogy and will be self publishing the rest of the trilogy and the Enforcer novellas.

So let’s get to your stories.

Blurb for Trading Up:

Camilla’s deal breakers make finding a man to fit her wants, needs, and desires darn near impossible. For years she’s been primped and primed to be the perfect political daughter, when all she really wants to do is let loose without her world collapsing. When a friend sends her Madam Eve’s way, she grabs the opportunity to explore without being outed to the conservative watchdogs.
Jonah Black’s career is heading for a change. His friends have dubbed him married to the military, and he can’t deny that his focus has been off center. While they enjoy the pleasures of life and wives, he has nothing to come home to. When offered the chance for a 1NS, he signs up, unprepared for the exotic woman whose sweet exterior masks enticing sexuality.
Sensory depravation and the natural freedom of anonymity launch unexpected sexual desires. Madame Eve’s only request–Enjoy the sweetness of life and let the chips fall where they may–leaves this couple eager for an eye-opening experience that breaks all the rules.

Excerpt:

The flames licking inside her were too much to take, along with his roaming hand. She leaned forward and grasped the chilled wine goblet as a lifeline. When he nudged her lips to take a second taste, she pressed them together, holding her finger up and then laughing because he couldn’t see it in the dark. She took a long cool sip, more from Jonah’s effect on her than the food. She licked her lips then tucked herself against him, momentarily satisfied.
“Better?
“Mmm.” Cam sighed. “When’s it your turn? I’m having all the fun.”
“I’m having a good time feeding you.”
“You’re not hungry?” In the dark, his heart pounded against her cheek. “I’m hungry, all right. Ravenous, even.” Jonah caressed her thigh. Cam had no doubt his eyes would scorch her to her very soul. His lazy trail along her skin left her smoldering in need. She let him ply her with another skewer to distract from the throb at the apex of her thighs. She sucked a piece of pineapple he held between his fingers. Juices trickled down her chin. He mopped the stream of liquid with the pad of his thumb and nosily sucked it off. Holy bananas, she wanted a taste of him now. Her mind kept rewinding to the feel of his finger parting her lips.
“I uh…need to use the ladies’ room.” Cam pressed the button on the table for assistance and slid off of Jonah’s lap and into her seat. Seconds later, her guide assisted her out of her chair and slid it back in.
“Here we go, Ms. Knox.”
She stepped awkwardly away from the table. Along the way, she heard soft sighs and giggles. Definitely some hard-core kissing action. The idea of giving in to the dark side and making out in public heightened her ardor. A loud bang startled her. She jumped, almost losing Cesaire’s grasp.
“Don’t worry Ms. Knox. Almost there.” A few more steps and he ushered her into a space where dim lighting burned her dilated pupils for a moment before her eyes adjusted. He sat on a lounge chair between two doors marked Men and Women. The dim glow brought her normal self-conscious thoughts raging forward. In the dark Jonah couldn’t see her physical flaws. Would that change once he saw the real her?

Blurb for Taming Chaos:

Goddess Serephine has come into her powers early. Without the proper tutelage, she spirals out of control, exploding into chaos and harming the current God of Order. Guilt consumes Sere while she’s Chaos at her worst, at her best, she’s a lively young lady. If one man makes her nervous the most, it’s Darvon. God Darvon has been recalled home to take his father’s stead. When he sees him wheelchair bound, he’s determined to have his revenge on the one who harmed him. Until he enters the holding chamber and lays eyes on the pixie face of his childhood friend. In absolute Chaos there can be no peace, with absolute Order there can be no growth. Neither party can deny their godhood. With Astraia demanding that they come to terms and their growing attraction, will they find balance to their souls?

Excerpt 1:

The serene Aegean Sea brought solace to Darvon’s musings. He sat on the deck chair with a glass of soumada, an almond non-alcoholic drink. A soft breeze cooled his warm skin. If he was honest with himself, he’d admit staying on Nisyros had nothing to do with his family and everything to do with Sere. He could have moved to one of the other islands of the Dodecanese.
While his drink satisfied his thirst, raw hunger ate away at him. When he’d touched her soft skin, a need of startling intensity rocketed through him so fast he’d felt the vestiges of his ironclad control slipping from him. The weakness sobered him up fast. Sere was and would forever be dangerous. And now she lay in his father’s house within reach. Complications. He saw nothing but complications.
“Something weighing heavy on your mind, son?” Alister pushed his wheelchair out onto the deck.
Darvon turned to his father and nodded in greeting. “I cannot separate the two women in one. I’ve grown accustomed to dealing and cleaning up Chaos’ aftermath.”
“It’s the way of things. The law of nature. We are and forever will be keepers of Order, she will forever be Chaos at its darkest.”
“Astraia, in all her godly justice, gave me the means to halt Chaos and control her. Now I’m left with thoughts. Will I ever trust Sere? Can she learn to control herself?” He sighed.
“Don’t concern yourself with the evil that has passed, son. The laws of nature demand we look forward, keep your mind set on the good that has yet to come.”
“You quote Hobbes?” Darvon chuckled.
“Seemed a good quote to say for the moment.” Alister laid his hand on his son’s shoulder. “You’re missing the greater picture.”
“Enlighten me with the silver lining then, Father.” Darvon topped up his drink. “Would you care for some?”
“None for me thanks.” He rearranged the light sheet covering his legs. “You now have a chance to have her as you’ve wanted.”
“That’s rich.” Darvon laughed. “She still annoys me, Father. She tugs at my patience. I can’t be the man I’m supposed to be around her.” The adolescent yearning sound of his words embarrassed him.
“Things weren’t always so, Darvon. You judge too much. That’s one thing I always regretted. I never wanted you to be the next Order. I’d hoped you would have a task with less responsibility.”
“Why? I enjoy being who I am.”
“Do you? Do you live, dream, and enjoy the ray of warm sunlight on your face?”
Darvon shrugged. “I don’t have time to dream. The sun rises and it sets. Why would I care if it warms my face?”
“That, my boy, is the whole point. You’re too concerned with Orderliness that you don’t appreciate the finer things in life. The love of a good woman, the smell of an expensive cigar, the taste of fine whiskey as it burns your throat.”
“If you want some whiskey, I’ll have some brought to you.” Darvon leaned back in his chair, agitated as he crossed his legs. “There’s a proper place for everything. It pleases me to have certain things arranged.”
Perfection is what I am, and it’s a rule I live by. There’s not a thing wrong with how I run my life. Disorder is, and will always be, unacceptable. He wasn’t an obsessive-compulsive person by any means though.
“I don’t have OCD,” he insisted. Not every glass in his cupboard faced the same way, nor were his clothes color-coded in his closet.
“No, what you have is much worse. You have no time to live because you’re too busy policing to have a substantial relationship with anyone. That’s how I’ve failed you.”
“Do you want me to bring home the women I date? I figured the one I marry will eventually meet you. I assure you, my appetites are healthy, my needs are met.”
“Who you bring home is up to you. When you can embrace emotion and step away without blinders on, we’ll speak of life again. This talk has worn me out.”
“Let me help you inside then.”
“No. I can see myself in.” Alister wheeled away from his son.
Darvon watched his father leave and questioned if his words held merit.
An hour later, Darvon still questioned his fate. “Bah!” He stood, his abrupt motion causing the chair to tilt back. He caught the armrest, righted the chair and blew out a steadying breath. Even without meaning to, Sere had wrecked his perfectly structured life. Determination seized him. His leisurely amble hastened as he stalked to Sere’s quarters to put some boundaries between them. Only when he eased open the door intent to speak, lust overrode his thoughts.

Adult Excerpt:

Darvon stroked Sere’s head. Ahead of them lay the stretch of beach leading into the mouth of the Katsouni caves. During the busy season, the public and tourists used the hot springs during the day. Reserving the caves took coaxing and a promise of returning a favor.
When they arrived, he parked the car and woke Sere up with a gentle shake. “Beautiful, we’ve arrived.” He exited the car and rounded it to open her door.
“Oh, we haven’t been here in forever.” She laughed in pleasure.
Darvon slipped his hand in hers. “Not since we were kids and ran away from home. Let’s go see how much it’s changed.” He failed to mention he’d come and laid out their things for the night.
“Oh, smell the Earth.” Sere tugged his hand. Once they entered, she rubbed her hand over his in excitement.
“Do you think the stalagmites and stalactites have changed much? Remember the bear’s teeth in the rock you scared me with?”
“I’m more interested in the springs, gataki,” he said and winked.
“A dip sounds heavenly.” She leaned into his embrace.
“We can explore later if we have time.” He planned to run his hands over every inch of her body, both in the water and out. He smelled her arousal and her hesitancy and grinned. The dark nature in him coaxed him, prodded him to fulfill his needs.
“You’re bad.” She swatted him.
“No, well-behaved, till now.” He spun her to face him and crushed his lips to hers. She tasted of sweet honey. He dipped his tongue in deeper and mashed his body against hers. Need slammed into his gut and hardened his cock against her.
“Darvon.” Sere moaned, sliding her hands up his chest.
He broke away, ran his finger over her bottom lip, and then took her hand as he walked backward, leading her farther into the depths of the cave. Her confusion ate at him. He was in no way done with her, not by a long shot. His ears picked up the faint trickle of water. He guided her through the pillars, following the sound. Running water pinged off the cave walls near the hot springs, branching off into an open sky vegetative landscape ripe with bushes and plant life in a multitude of pastel colored flowers.
“Beautiful,” Sere exclaimed. Above them the cave walls rose, leading to a crystal clear blue sky without the heat index. Serenity surrounded them. She breathed in the aroma of their private paradise. Her enjoyment pleased him.
Darvon leaned against a pillar and began removing his shirt, button by button, before slipping it off and onto a limestone ledge. His dick hurt, constricted by the zipper of his jeans, yet he didn’t look from her eyes as he stripped. The gentle hitch in her breath, the tilt of her head and her eyes gazing at his throbbing cock made his hunger for her increase tenfold. He’d never encountered the gut clenching need to possess before. The pheromones she radiated consumed him, rivaling the scents enveloping them.
“Why don’t you get comfortable?”
Sere’s hands shook as she unclasped the back of her halter top. The silk scraps of material slid down, folding over the v shape of her cleavage, giving a tantalizing view of her rosy areolas. “Like that?”
“Hell yeah.” Darvon took his cock in his hand and stroked it, once, then twice, and crooked his finger at her. “Come closer, lose more.”
Sere hooked her fingers around her soft skirt, approaching him. At a hand’s reach away, she turned and bent over at the waist, drawing her skirt to the cavern floor.
Darvon’s eyes bugged out of his head. Beautiful pink lips winked at him, glistened with arousal. “Now that is sexy,” he growled in appreciation of her bare pussy.
“It feels deliciously naughty,” Sere said, straightening to turn around and take his cock in her hand. “I’ve wanted this so bad.”
“Show me.” She’d become bold in his absence. He let her take the lead and stifled back a groan of pleasure as she stroked him from tip to base.

Buy Links:

Trading Up:
Decadent Publishing
Amazon

Taming Chaos:

Secret Cravings Publishing

Secret Cravings Publishing Backlist:

Soulbound
Briar’s Champion
All Bets Are Off
Cherry Flavored Sex
Inscribed Love
Only Skin Deep
Heaven Sent
Rhapsody
Shut Up and Kiss Me

Contact Information:

on Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/mahalialevey
Fan Page- Mahalia Levey
on Twitter – @Hales3000
on her blog – http://www.mahalia2010.wordpress.com/blog
on her website – http://www.mahalialevey.com

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

JA Huss

Official Blog of New York Times Bestselling Author, JA Huss

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, saucy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

