Carol Preflatish, Author of Spring Forward, Fall Back in Love

My guest today is Carol Preflatish. She’s going to tell us about her latest release, and reveals what has surprised her about becoming a writer. So, let’s get started.

Carol, I’m delighted to have you here. Can you tell us how you decided to become an author?

Thank you. I’m excited to be here and meet your readers. Ever since elementary school, I’ve loved to write. In high school, I took both writing classes that were offered and, even though I didn’t major in English, I took every creative writing class they had. I actually started out writing some fan fiction in late 1999. I received some really good feedback from that and decided to give romantic suspense a shot. So, as my New Year’s resolution for 2000, I decided I was going to write a full-length book. It didn’t matter if it ever got published or not, I just wanted to write it and here I am five books later.

Is there anything your fans would be surprised to know about you?

I’m a licensed ham radio operator. My husband talked me into it over fifteen years ago. It was a way for us to communicate when we were apart before cell phones.

What’s on your bucket list?

I don’t really like the term “bucket list.” I prefer “To Do” list. The main things on it are travel. There are so many places I would like to visit. Number one on the list would be the New England states. I’m hoping that can be the destination of our next big vacation.

Is there anything about becoming a writer that has surprised you?

When I first started writing, I had no idea that I would have to do so much marketing. Dumb me thought the book would sell itself. Boy, do I know different now.

Plotter vs. Panster – Which one are you?

I’m a little of both. I usually start a book with a plot and a chapter outline. Once I’m into the book, the characters take over and the plot usually remains the same, but the chapter outline is out the window.

Here’s an opportunity to tell us in a few words your favorite:

Author: the late Robert B. Parker
Actor: There are so many, but I love Tom Selleck.
Actress: I don’t really have a favorite actress.
Band/singer: The Eagles
Movie/TV Show: it’s a tie between The Big Bang Theory and Castle
Color: Purple
Season: Winter
Drink: non-alcoholic would be iced tea; alcoholic is a margarita
Food: pizza
Animal/pet: I love both cats and dogs, but right now we have two cats
Sport: football

Would you like to share some juicy details about your book?

My book, a contemporary western novella, is called “Spring Forward, Fall Back in Love” and it’s about a girl who returns to her hometown eight years after high school. The last person Grace Taylor wanted to see was her old boyfriend, Andy Granger, but that’s exactly who was standing in front of her on the porch of the ranch. To make matters worse, he was her trail guide. When an unexpected spring storm strands them in a secluded mountain cabin, memories and old feelings emerge. Can Grace keep the secret she’d kept for eight years while at the same time keep Andy at a distance?

So you’ve finished this story. What can readers expect from you next? When?

I’ve completed about four chapters on my next book, which will be a contemporary romance that takes place in the horse region of Kentucky. A big city girl unexpectedly finds her true love in the country. Since I work a full time day job, I never know when I will get a book finished. I hope to have it out sometime next winter.

Excerpt:

“Tell us about your boyfriend, Grace,” Maria teased. “You did have a high school sweetheart, didn’t you?”

“Well, yes.”

“What did he look like?” Silvia inquired.

“He was just an average guy.”

Lucy’s drink was served and she took a gulp. “Next question, how old were you when you lost your virginity?”

As Grace opened her mouth, someone behind her spoke. “She was sixteen.”
She recognized that voice and turned to find Andy standing behind her.

“What are you doing here?”

“Grace, aren’t you going to introduce us?” Lucy said, standing.

“He’s not worth an introduction.” She turned back to the table.

“I’m Lucy Marlow and you are?” She extended her hand and took his.

“Andy Granger, Grace’s high school sweetheart.”

“And, apparently the man she lost her virginity to,” Lucy said, still holding his hand. “Would you like to join us? We’d love to hear stories about our Grace.”

“No, he wouldn’t.” Grace stared at Andy.

He apparently got the message. “No, I can’t. I just wanted to stop by and say hello.” He pulled away from Lucy’s grasp and walked back to the bar where he joined his buddies.

“Pity,” Lucy said, watching him walk away. “Grace, he’s hot as hell. Was he that good-looking as a teenager?”

“We parted on bad terms, so I’d just as soon not talk about him.”

“We understand,” Silvia said.

“Now wait a minute. So, you have no interest in him?” Lucy asked.

“None.”

“Then, you wouldn’t mind if I went over and talked to him?”

Grace knew that meant Lucy would do everything she could to get him into bed tonight. But, what could she do? She had no claim to him, and, as soon as this weekend was over, she didn’t plan on ever seeing him again. “Not at all. Talk to him all you want.”

That’s all Lucy needed to hear. She jumped up and sauntered over to the bar where Andy sat with his buddies.

“I can’t believe you let her do that,” Maria said. “You know what she has in mind.”

“I have no feelings for him.”

“That’s not how it looked when you heard his voice behind you just now.”

Grace looked over at Andy. Lucy already had her paws on him, rubbing his thigh, and his buddies looked like they were ready to pounce on her if given the chance. As she was turning her attention back to the table, she glanced at the door. “Look, James is here.”

Links to where the novella can be purchased:

Secret Cravings Publishing

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Backlist:

Love, Lies, and Deceit
Saved by the Sheriff
A Kitchen Affair
Compromised

Follow Carol:

on Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/CarolPreflatish
on her blog – http://CarolPre.blogspot.com
on her website – http://CarolPre.webs.com
on her Amazon author page – https://www.amazon.com/author/carolpre

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Carol Preflatish, Author of Spring Forward, Fall Back in Love

  1. I’m sooooooo looking forward to reading this book! Wonderful interview ladies:)

  2. Sound great Carol! Best of luck

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, saucy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

