Katy Evans – Author of Real

I feel real honored to have my guest, Katy Evans, with me today. This newbie author’s first book Real is on the New York Times bestselling list at #5 and the USA Today best selling list at #6 (as of last Wednesday). The number of positive reviews published in the three weeks since its release is almost 900 at amazon.com alone, and still climbing, even as we speak. Isn’t that amazing?

Katy, I’m delighted to have you here. Tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you so much for having me! And about me, well, I’m a wife, mother, daughter, friend, writer, reader, lover of nature, puppies, chocolate, and trees.

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

Definitely chocolate, good movies, and good books. 

Can you tell us about how you decided to become an author?

I wanted to write since I was twelve and read Sweet Valley High, and then, when I progressed to read my first Julie Garwood romance! Her books touched me in so many ways, I couldn’t help but want to do the same to others with my stories.

Give us a brief overview of your previous works.

Real is actually my “real” – the first story I have tried to write and finish that wasn’t trying out for any contest or trying to get into any line or please any publisher’s requirements. It’s “it” for me.

What advice would you give to newbie authors?

Patience and persistence. Always know that only you can tell things your own way, so stop comparing yourself to others and let your own voice shine through.

What or who inspired you to write Real?

Remington. He’s been in my head for a long time, and when he appeared and hijacked my attempts at another book, he didn’t let go of me until I finished. Even now, as I work on the sequel, he still owns me! 

How long did you take to complete this book?

Real overpowered me like a fever does! I didn’t eat, sleep, or was able to do anything but write “Real” for 21 days. And then, once done, I started polishing it.

How much research did you do for writing Real?

Several books on various topics addressed in the story, however, all of the topics in it are some things that I’ve also had firsthand experience with, so it wasn’t hard to address them.

Does the apparent success of this book come as a surprise for you?

I think it’s both yes and no! No, because I absolutely love “Real”. I love Remy, Brooke, and the cast so much, I’d do anything for my book and believe in all of its messages and depth full heartedly. And yes, on the other hand, because I never expected to be able to reach so many readers. To know so many lives have been touched by Brooke and Remy’s beautiful love story, just like mine has been, makes me so happy, I have no words.

Why do you think this book seems deeply resonant for your readers?

I think there are so many aspects of it that readers identify with. Brooke’s normalcy and strength. Remington’s strength coupled with his vulnerability. Their love which is so instinctive and raw and pure. Their struggles. Brooke’s complete awareness of herself, and every inch of her soul mate, Remington, when they are together.

Tell us about the title. Why Real?

Remington gave me the title; it was all he wanted with Brooke.

If this story was made into a movie, whom would you cast as Remington/Remy and Brooke?

I think I see Chris Hemsworth, with darkened hair and other minor alterations, with Jennifer Lawrence.

Is this story a part of a series? What can readers expect from you next? When?

Yes, it’s part of a series that will consist of 5 books total. Three are of Remington and Brooke, and the next is of Melanie, followed by the last one, which is a surprise. I am working on both REMY, Remington’s Real in his POV, and MINE, the sequel to REAL, to release in summer 2013 before I follow up with a story for Melanie as well. Can’t wait to share all these with you!

Now, onto your story Real.

Blurb:

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…
He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…
Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.
He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .
But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.
I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.
If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

Excerpt:

He comes into the room carried on the shoulders of four guys. My heart stutters. He’s got this big smile on his face, cocky Remy to the tenth power, high on his wins, and the women scream, high on him. “Remy! Remyyyy!”
“That’s right, who’s the man?” he shouts, and pounds his fists on his chest. I laugh, completely sucked in, mesmerized and enchanted by him. The aura he emanates makes him blaze like a sun tonight. If right now he says he can fly, I think we’d all believe him. Everyone present seems magnetized by him, helplessly gravitating to where he is. He spots me, and his smile softens and his eyes alight with a strange, hungry, and somehow glowing look. “Brooke.”
He hops down to his feet and beckons me forward, and the crowd parts to let me pass. He smiles at me, and his dancing blue eyes hold mine as he slowly walks forward and meets me halfway. He lifts me in his powerful arms and swings me around, and then he kisses me.
The instant he takes my lips, fireworks shoot off in my body.
All the pent-up desire of days and weeks adds up to this one moment when everything that I am, and everything that I want, is narrowed down to this. To me, pulling Remington Tate’s dark head closer to mine as I open my mouth and let him give me anything and everything he wants to.
His kiss spins my stomach into a wild swirl. He holds me tightly by the hips and deftly moves his lips as he rubs his tongue to mine. A rumble vibrates deep in his core as he gathers me closer and forces me to feel his erection, all while he angles his head and fucks my mouth like there’s no tomorrow.
People whoot loudly nearby, and when they tell him to “Go fuck that pussy!” Remy tears free. He breathes harshly through his nose as he drags his mouth to my ear, where he whispers, hot and gruff, “You’re mine tonight.”
A fevered moan escapes me. He cups my face in those big hands that make me feel fragile and tiny, and he hungrily recaptures my mouth. He takes it slowly this time, as if I’m precious and valuable. “Tonight you’re mine.”
He looks into my face again, his eyes seething with desire. I think I just nodded in agreement, but I’m too shaky to know for sure. A sweltering fever runs unleashed through me. My legs won’t stop trembling as every one of my cells scream in lust because I want him now. I want him now.
“Remy, I want you, take me!” a woman shouts, but he ignores her, ignores everything. But me.
His eyes dark and intent, he scrapes the sides of my face with the pads of his big, callused thumbs, then spreads his fingers wide over my scalp as he kisses me again, our mouths hot and wet as they blend, thirsty and anxious. I grip the soft gray of the t-shirt he wears in my fists, dying with sensations. I don’t even care who’s watching, am oblivious to the crude things they’re whistling. I hadn’t realized how much I want this, need this, until these shivers ripple through me and I’m in a flux under his insistent sexy mouth, the look in his eyes that makes me feel like I’m the only woman alive to him.
“Take her to your room, Tate!” someone yells. But he seems engrossed only in me, and me in him.
Holding me protectively in his strong arms, he brushes my hair back as his lips buzz along the bare curve between my neck and collar, his fingers sliding up my neck as he once again, like a chant, nuzzles my ear and tells me, “Mine. Tonight.”

Author Bio:

Katy Evans grew up with book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love, married him, and now they are hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which, is hopefully, only the beginning…

To find more about her, look her up on her website, Twitter, or Facebook, she’d also love to hear from you!

Follow Katy:

on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katy-Evans/521052267929550?fref=ts
on Twitter – https://twitter.com/authorkatyevans
on her blog – http://www.katyevans.net/blog/
on her website – http://www.katyevans.net

Links to where Real can be purchased:

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Real-ebook/dp/B00C9QORFW/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1366502980&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/real-katy-evans/1115099256?ean=2940016489162

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/304281

Katy, thank you so much for visiting us today.

Thank you so much for having me, Roxy, and for helping me share “Real” with the world!! 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Katy Evans – Author of Real

  1. Such a wonderful interview, Roxy, thank you for having me!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Book Spotlight – Trusting Patience – Jennifer Simpkins | Roxy Wilson

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour & Giveaways ~ MINE by Katy Evans ~ #bookspotlight #BYNR @AvidReadersCafe | Roxy Wilson

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Terry Bolryder

Fun and sexy shifter romance!

Diverse Book Tours

Virtual book tour promotional services for diverse books everywhere.

Buy The Cover

My musings about books, reviews, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

My Reading Nook

Voracious reader of all the books

imy santiago

indie writer

Obstinate Headstrong Girl ... author Renée Reynolds

Writer. Thinker. Talker. Author of smart, saucy, and seductive happily ever afters. I love a good shenanigan.

Lessons Learned in Life

To encourage you to keep going. To remind you to be strong. Lessons Learned In Life® Copyright © 2013™

Black Page Turners

Your Passport to Great Books

